Artists are the Grooviest People

I recently ran into this cool artwork at DeviantArt, and thought yeah, this is amazing. This blows my doors off. I’m going to contact the artist and see if he’ll give me permission to post it on my blog. I mean, Gilligan’s Island of the Dead. How cool is that? Two of my biggest loves: C’mon – Gilligan’s Island. The undead. The combination made me hyperventilate. Salivate. How many ways can I say this?

Law abiding blogger that I am, I dug around to find the artist – some guy referring to himself as Sideshow Monkey – and turned out he does artwork for Rob Zombie. CD covers, T-shirts, comics. And so much more. Projects my daughter, Miranda, would call “Rad.” I seriously had no idea. Call me out of the loop. I was that clueless.

Once I saw that I thought – Oh, Season. No way. Do you know who this guy is? No way is he going to okay this. No way are you even going to reach him.

And I talk to my friend, Cowboy, who says something along the lines of, “So, Babe, shoot him an email. I’ll bet he’d be cool with it.”

Next thing I know, I’m in contact with David Hartman, who thanks me and says he’s glad I like the piece, and then tells me, “I’d be honored to have it on your blog. Go for it!”

Of course, I screamed and jumped around and slipped on the polished wooden floor, but that’s beside the point.

Yeah. Artists are the grooviest people.

© David Hartman
Thanks, Dave!

Note: Gilligan’s Island of the Dead is the property of David Hartman and does not fall under my blog’s Creative Commons License. Thank you!

About seasonharperfox

I teach fiction in a Cyber Class Near U. View all posts by seasonharperfox

One response to “Artists are the Grooviest People